The town museum

The town museum is a unique cultural and touristic sight in Grein. The town’s history was shaped by the river Danube and the dangerous rapids that started only a short distance downstream of the town. The guides of Grein made sure that the rafts and ships got through these dangerous passages unharmed.

The objects were selected from the municipal collections and put on display in the town museum. Many of them are “hands-on” exhibits that can be touched.
The objects are distributed across several rooms. A reference to the town theatre is established by “The Fundus”, where you can marvel at costumes, hats, bags, fake gold and many other theatre essentials.

We care about the direct contact between the visitors and the exhibits. A pile of more than a hundred kilograms of clay fragments recovered from a medieval castle moat adds to the atmosphere with its forest scent.

Ship models and colourful maps illustrate the dreaded “Strudengau” section of the Danube, where many ships were reportedly crushed or sucked down into funnel-shaped whirlpools. This phenomenon was sometimes regarded as the Austrian version of “Scylla and Charybdis” (from Homer’s Odyssey).

Despite all these hardships, the people of Grein lived a rather prosperous life. They provided ship guides, horse or oxen teams for pulling ships upstream and carriages for the safe transport of valuable goods by land. Emperors and kings stayed over night in Grein.

In the basement of the museum, there is an exhibition called “Sommerfrische”
(summer retreat, literally: “summer freshness”), which reveals how the noble society spent their summers in the charming Danube area around Grein in the years around 1900 and illustrates bathing traditions in the summer baths at that time. Numerous everyday objects create a lively impression of the golden age called fin-de-siècle. Dive into a world that is as fascinating and charming as ever.

Stadtmuseum Grein

Das Stadtmuseum Grein ist ein einmaliges, kulturelles und touristisches Angebot in Grein. Geprägt ist die Geschichte der Stadt von seiner Lage an der Donau am Eingang zu den einst gefährlichen, und von den Schiffleuten gefürchteten, Stromschnellen. Die Lotsen von Grein führten die Flöße und Schiffe durch die Schifffahrtshindernisse.

Aus den Städtischen Sammlungen wurden Objekte für das Stadtmuseum Grein ausgewählt und in zwangloser Weise präsentiert. Viele Exponate sind „Touch-ons“, diese können Sie gerne berühren.

Sie sind über mehrere Schauräume im Haus verteilt. Den Zusammenhang mit dem Stadttheater stellt der Fundus her, wo Kostüme, Hüte, Taschen, falsches Gold und was man sonst noch zum Theaterspielen braucht aufbewahrt wird.

Uns ist der direkte Kontakt zwischen Besucher und Objekt wichtig. Mehr als hundert Kilo Scherben aus einem mittelalterlichen Burggraben liegen auf einem Haufen und duften nach Wald.

Schiffsmodelle und bunte Karten veranschaulichen den europaweit verrufenen Donauabschnitt „Strudengau“, der viele Schiffe zum Untergehen brachte oder in einem trichterförmigen Wirbel nach unten zog. Die österreichische „Skylla und Charybdis“ – ein Begriff aus der Odysseus-Sage – wurde darin gesehen.

Trotz aller Scheußlichkeit, die Schifffahrt betreffend, lebten die Greiner ein gediegenes Leben. Sie boten Lotsendienste an, Pferde- und Ochsenvorspann um die Schiffe donauaufwärts zu  bringen und Fuhrwerke, um kostbare Ladungen sicher auf dem Landweg zu transportieren. Kaiser und Könige mussten in Grein über Nacht bleiben. 

In den Kellergewölben wird unter dem Begriff „Sommerfrische“ gezeigt, wie die noble Gesellschaft um 1900 standesgemäße Erholung in der reizvollen Donaugegend um Grein suchte, sowie die Badekultur in den Sommerbädern. Anhand vieler Alltagsgegenstände aus dem Bereich der angewandten Kunst wird ein lebendiges Bild jener goldenen Epoche des Fin de Siecle geboten. Tauchen Sie ein in eine Welt, die bis heute ihre ungebrochene Faszination ausübt.